In the state of Washington, there are specific laws about driving under the influence, also referred to simply as DUI. It is important to know the laws if you are stopped by police on suspicion of a DUI, especially if you are charged.
A DUI charge can come about if a driver is in physical control of a vehicle under the following circumstances:
- The driver consumed alcohol or did drugs, and it lessened the individual’s ability to drive the vehicle in a responsible and safe manner.
- The driver has a blood alcohol concentration or BAC of 0.08 percent or higher — this is often referred to as a “per se” DUI.
- The driver has a level of five nanograms or greater of THC per milliliter of blood. THC is the main active ingredient in marijuana, and this charge is often referred to as a “per se marijuana” DUI.
As is the case in other states in the US, Washington has a law called “implied consent,” which requires all motorists who are arrested for DUI to submit to a breathalyzer test. This is done for the purpose of determining the amount of alcohol or drugs in the person’s system. If a driver refuses to take a breathalyzer test, there are certain penalties. For a first offense, the individual will see their driver’s license suspended for on a year. For a second or third offense, the driver’s license is suspended for two years if the individual had one previous refusal to take the breath test or a DUI-related suspension over the past seven years.
In the state of Washington, underage drivers of under 21 must maintain a BAC of user 0.02 percent. If a person under the age of 21 is driving and their BAC is over 0.02 percent or is found to have THC in their system, they can be arrested and convicted for DUI in Vancouver, Wa.
For a first DUI offense, the penalties include two days in jail, 15 days with electronic home monitoring and the requirement of a 24/7 Sobriety Program for 30 days. If the individual had a BAC of 0.15 percent or higher or they refused a breath or blood test, they must serve 120 days in the 24/7 Sobriety Program.
A second DUI offense carries penalties of 30 days in jail if the person’s BAC is less than 0.15 percent and 45 days in jail if the BAC is higher than 0.15 percent or the individual refused a blood or breath test.
For a third offense, the person can serve 90 days in jail if the BAC is under 0.15 percent or 120 if the BAC is higher or they refused a breath or blood test.
It is important to have a professional attorney on your side if you are arrested for a DUI. For more information on how an attorney can help those facing a DUI in SW Washington visit www.posnerlawoffice.com today.Read More
A Fontana resident, a 22-year-old female, died after a traffic collision in Fontana this August 15, says the San Bernardino County Sherriff Coroner’s Division.
The incident took place at around ten p.m.; Clarissa Galarza Anaya was riding in a Chevrolet Aveo southbound on Cherry Avenue just before a man driving a Dodge Ram northbound on Cherry Avenue hit Anaya’s Aveo.
Galarza Anaya was quickly brought to a local hospital where she died at 11:14 p.m., according to authorities.
The Dodge Ram male motorist was transported to a local hospital as well for medical attention; his injuries were unspecified in the Fontana Police Department statement.
An additional vehicle struck the Dodge Ram making the wreck a three-vehicle collision. The driver of the third car wasn’t hurt, the FPD report claims.
It is unknown whether drugs or alcohol were involved in the accident, the investigation is still ongoing.
If you or a loved one have struggled through either financial, emotional or physical hardships as a result of another’s negligent driving, you may be eligible to receive legal compensation. But haste is of the utmost importance, California’s statute of limitations reads that you are given up to two years since the date of the accident to file a claim against another person, this time, is drastically reduced to six months if you plan on pursuing legal action against the state or any other government entity.
Visit this free online resource to learn more about California personal injury law.
California’s judicial system is extremely complicated; this is where it’s recommended you hire a professional and experienced personal injury attorney in Fontana from the offices of Guldjian Law APC. Allow us to handle insurance negotiations which are immediately attempting to dissuade your right to seek justice in court by offering under the table compensation which more than often is heavily insufficient to what you would normally earn in court. Contact us today or visit our website to schedule your free legal consultation which will allow one of our representatives to decide whether they will be able to fight for you in the court of law successfully.Read More
Accidents involving motorcycles are extremely common throughout the state of California and particularly in the most urban areas of San Diego, Orange County, and Los Angeles. The reasons for these accidents vary from intoxication to mechanical failure to the misconduct of other drivers on the road. With the rates of motorcycle accidents on the rise due to driver error from cellular phone distractions, increasingly congested highways and incidents of road rage, the risks to motorcycle riders is higher than ever. Because Southern California is blessed with mild year-round climate, many bikers are drawn to the area and are faced with the strong possibility of an accident.
Why Do Motorcycle Accidents Happen?
Overall the most common cause of motorcycle accidents relates to the size of the vehicles on the road. Typically, because cars and trucks are larger than motorcycles, the drivers of such vehicles sometimes are not able to adequately detect the motorcycles on the road. For example, when a driver seeks to change lanes, he or she may not see a motorcycle nearby. Consequently, when the car or truck changes lanes, a collision may occur. Lanes are changes suddenly, or side and rear view mirrors are not checked, resulting in an accident and a violation of California Vehicle Code §22107. This state statute forbids drivers from changing lanes without making a turn signal and waiting until a lane change is reasonably safe.
California Vehicle Code 21801 makes it a traffic violation for failing to yield to oncoming traffic when making a left turn in front of oncoming traffic. Violation of this California statute is often the explanation behind another common cause of motorcycle accidents. It is not uncommon for cars and trucks to simply not see an oncoming motorcycle and to make a left turn. This failure to yield may result in horrific accidents, where the motorcycle skids out or is forced to lay down in the road.
Another kind of “failure to yield” is an additional cause for many motorcycle accidents. Often when cars and trucks pull out of side streets or parking lots, the driver does not look carefully enough for pulling out into oncoming traffic. Sometimes these drivers do not detect a motorcycle approaching; the driver then pulls out (failing to yield) and an accident ensues. Under CVC 21804 all drivers entering a roadway must yield to oncoming traffic before entering a lane of traffic.
What Injuries Do Motorcyclists Suffer Most?
Although protective gear does reduce the severity of many injuries, the nature of motorcycle riding ensures that an operator will hit the ground hard when an accident occurs. These potentially serious injuries include significant damage to the wrist, leg, arm, elbow, spine, back, neck and knees.
Contact a San Diego Motorcycle Accident Attorney
Because the injuries from motorcycle accidents are often severe and complicated, an attorney who has extensive experience in this area will be able to understand the extent of your injuries quickly. Also, because a motorcycle accident attorney understands that bikers are just regular law-abiding citizens and that these accidents are often not the fault of the biker, you will receive the most aggressive and thorough legal representation while your case is pending.
Visit www.motorcycleaccidentlawyerssandiego.net today to make an appointment to discuss your legal options.Read More
An accident involving multiple vehicles resulted in one person was killed and at least two others injured in Temecula on Thursday around 1:00 p.m. The accident took place at an intersection near the southeast corner of Chaparral High School. Northbound lanes of Winchester Road were closed off as authorities investigated the crash. Lanes remained closed for two hours according to Deputy Mike Vasquez of the Riverside County sheriff’s Department. Deputy Vasquez stated that a motorcyclist had struck a pedestrian and proceeded to collide with a nearby vehicle.
The 20-year-old motorcyclist was killed on impact and pronounced dead at the scene of the accident by authorities. The driver and pedestrian were transported to a hospital for injuries sustained in the accident. Authorities were investigating how the accident occurred, but it was unknown if drugs or alcohol played a factor.
Witnesses stated that the motorcyclist was traveling at a high rate of speed and cutting through traffic just before hitting the pedestrian, who was walking through a crosswalk. Visit www.temeculacaraccidentattorney.com to discover how a personal injury attorney can help those have been hurt in a Temecula car accident.Read More
The state of California is no stranger to its fair share of personal injury incidents. The entire state sees thousands of personal injury incidents each year. The personal injury bracket includes a large number of accidents and incidents such as:
Slip and fall occurrences
Nursing home abuse
Animal bites incidents
You may be able to collect compensation if you are a Palo Alto resident who has suffered from any of the above incidents. A personal injury attorney can let you know if you qualify for compensation.
The Element of Neglect
Almost all of the above stated Palo Alto incidents involve the element of neglect. A person is guilty of neglect when he or she acts in a way that is detrimental to another person’s health or welfare. A person is neglectful if he or she fails to act in a protective or preventive manner, as well. For example, a neglectful pet owner allows his or her hot-tempered dog to run the streets without a leash. An experienced Palo Alto attorney will collect the facts that relate to your case. He or she can then let you know if your case seems as if it is viable.
What You Can Receive
A successful case will end with a judge awarding you compensatory damages that can pay for all of your injury-related expenses. Such damages will pay for medical bills, auto repairs, therapeutic treatments and more. Punitive damages are extra monies that a judge may award you if you have gone through extensive hardships or the culprit was especially neglectful. A drunk driving accident is an example of something that a judge may consider as especially neglectful.
Get Started Today
The first step toward collecting what is yours is getting on the phone and calling the office. Someone will set you up with a consultation time, and you can tell the lawyer about your experience at that time. You can hire the attorney if you feel comfortable with him or her. The lawyer will then start trying to negotiate an out-of-court settlement. Many offenders agree to settle out of court rather than risk a harsh judgment. You may be able to start putting the pieces of your life back together quickly just by calling an experience and professional Palo Alto car accident attorney today.Read More
A new study from the Washington Traffic Safety Commission reveals data showing that drivers involved in fatal accidents were high off marijuana. From 2013 to 2015, Washington has gone from 38 fatal accident involving marijuana to 75 fatal accidents. Researchers now believe that marijuana does increase the likelihood of fatal car accidents occurring.
In a report, Commission spokeswoman Shelly Baldwin stated that THC is identified in two forms. It can be the active kind, delta-9-tetrahydrocannabinol, that has an intoxicating effect and dissipates rapidly. Or it can be the inactive kind, carboxy-THC, which lingers in your system for days, even weeks, but isn’t intoxicating at that time.
Many Washingtonians believe that there is no problem with driving high and feel entirely comfortable when under the influence of marijuana. Washington’s marijuana laws are very similar to it’s DUI laws. If found with more than five nanograms per milliliter of blood, police have enough evidence to convict a driver of DUI regardless of other factors.
Being charged with DUI in Washington can have life-changing consequences. If you have been arrested for DUI in Seattle, contact our experienced DUI attorney in Seattle today. A DUI is a criminal offense in Washington State. Don’t let a DUI destroy your life, let our criminal law firm in Seattle help.Read More